My year of running

I thought this would be a good time to reflect on my year in running. I view my own “running year” as running September to August for reasons too dull to go into (with a target of at least 6 races, including 1 marathon each year) but a fellow blogger reviewed her calendar year, so sod it, so shall I.

2014 saw me:

Do my first obstacle race
Do two races in one day
Get a PB sub 24min in a 5k
Get a 10k PB of 48:44! PB by over a minute.
Get a half marathon PB (in February after having set it October 13).
Pace a running club friend to her half marathon PB (by 7 minutes) – a really phenomenal feeling.

Not a bad year really! Sadly a sub 4 marathon alluded me and consequently I spent June and July sulking. Actually, other than the half in Feb, all those achievements were all in August, October and November…
In March I did a relay (3.6miles) with some people from the work running club, great fun and a definite fixture for 2015.

2015 will see another marathon (MK again) but I think I will shelve the sub 4 plans. At least one more obstacle race is also a must, and check out my local parkrun.

Posted from WordPress for Android

2 responses to “My year of running

  1. Daniel Porter-Jones

    Great work! Having just started running again on January 2nd after ten years of not running – I managed 5k in 33 minutes. Having much less spectacular targets (due to my lazy instinct to do anything greater than 5k on two wheels) I am aiming for a sub 30 minute 5k within the first quarter of the year. Small steps!

    Like

What do you think?

