Drafting Assignment 6

Assignment 6 is super important, its due May 15th but due to various boring reasons relating to running – I am hoping to get it finished earlier than this. Which means getting a draft off in good time so my supervisory team can read it and feedback to me in time. And what better time than the Easter weekend with the promise of chocolate as a reward for getting through it?!

Phew.

A week or so ago I had a meeting with my supervisory team and my contact at Toastmasters International. This was a really great meeting; my supervisors hadn’t met my contact yet (I think they were concerned I was getting ahead of myself and perhaps there wasn’t as much buy-in from Toastmasters as I was making out). We had a great conversation and talked through some of the variables I was after, our hypotheses and some bits about Toastmasters that I was unaware of myself (such as the research team has only been around about seven years. The organisation, over a century!). It got me really enthused so I was happy to work on my assignment after this.

Draft submitted – a few thousand words over (oops). Hopefully my feedback will help me trim this back. You may also see some brief edits on my My Research page.

Conference feedback

I also heard back about the conference abstract I submitted. I was accepted (woo-hoo!) but asked for my abstract to have a couple of refinements, which I have made and updated the original conference abstract post.

I guess I need to plan my session now (May 21st). Good thing I am planning to get that assignment in early (famous last words…).

Right, off for a run now…

Published by psylina

Testing and Learning at the Open University. Cross-stitches, reads (not at the same time) and studies online learning and educational technology. Views are my own and not those of my mother or employer

One thought on “Drafting Assignment 6

What do you think?